Singapore Holidays for 2021 | School holidays, public holidays & long weekends



Share with other Parents or Go Back

Here's our guide on all the school holidays and public holidays for 2021 as well as how families can maximise your public holidays to get those long weekends too!

New Year - Credits Singapore Tourism Board
Source: Singapore Tourism Board

COVID-19 has changed much in 2020, including the way we spend our holidays. 2021 may or may not be different from 2020 and we may be unsure of what it brings but one thing we know for sure are the dates of our 11 gazetted public holidays, including four long weekends (8 if you put your leaves to good use)!

  • Public Holidays
  • School Holidays (Including Term Holidays)
  • Long Weekends

*Updated July 2021 with Primary School, Secondary School and Millenia Institute School Holidays.

Singapore Holidays for 2021

Public Holidays

The 11 gazetted Public Holidays in Singapore are as follows! 

  • Jan 1: New Year’s Day
  • Feb 12 & 13: Chinese New Year
  • Apr 2: Good Friday
  • May 1: Labour Day
  • May 13: Hari Raya Puasa
  • May 26: Vesak Day
  • Jul 20: Hari Raya Haji
  • Aug 9: National Day
  • Nov 4: Deepavali
  • Dec 25: Christmas Day

School Holidays

Here's a summary of the Singapore school holiday periods for schools in 2021 and if you need help entertaining the kids during the holidays, remember to check out our list of holiday classes, workshops, camps and experiences

Youth Day: Jul 4, following Monday, Jul 5, will be a school holiday
Day After National Day: Aug 10, Tuesday
Teacher’s Day: Sep 3, Friday
Children’s Day: Oct 8, Friday

Term Holidays

Primary and Secondary School Holidays 2021

  • March School Holidays: 13 Mar (Sat) - 21 Mar (Sun)
  • June School Holidays: 29 May (Sat) - 27 Jun (Sun)
  • September School Holidays: 4 Sep (Sat) - 12 Sep 12 (Sun)
  • December School Holidays: 20 Nov (Sat) - 31 Dec (Fri)

You may also wish to take note of the PSLE examination dates in 2021 as these are potential school off-days for P1 to P5s (including PSLE oral and PSLE marking days). 

Junior Colleges School Holidays 2021

  • March School Holidays: 13 Mar (Sat) - 21 Mar (Sun)
  • June School Holidays: 29 May (Sat) - 27 Jun (Sun)
  • September School Holidays: 4 Sep (Sat) - 12 Sep 12 (Sun)
  • December School Holidays: 27 Nov (Sat) - 31 Dec (Fri)

Millennia Institute School Holidays 2021

  • March School Holidays: 13 Mar (Sat) - 21 Mar (Sun)
  • June School Holidays: 29 May (Sat) - 27 Jun (Sun)
  • September School Holidays: 4 Sep (Sat) - 12 Sep 12 (Sun)
  • December School Holidays: 27 Nov (Sat) - 31 Dec (Fri)

Long Weekends

Singapore Holidays and Long Weekends

With a little extra planning, here's how you can make the best use of the Singapore holidays and your annual leave! 

*These dates might be the best for planning a staycation too! Here's our list of family friendly staycations for you to choose from! 

  • New Year’s Day: Jan 1, Fri | Jan 2, Sat | Jan 3, Sun
  • Chinese New Year: Feb 12, Fri | Feb 13, Sat | Feb 14, Sun
  • Good Friday: Apr 2, Fri | Apr 3, Sat | Apr 4, Sun
  • Hari Raya Puasa: May 13, Thu | May 14, Fri | May 15, Sat | May 15, Sun
  • Vesak Day: May 26, Wed | May 27, Thu | May 28, Fri | May 29, Sat | May 30, Sun
  • Youth Day: Jul 3, Sat | Jul 4, Sun | Jul 5 Mon
  • Hari Raya Haji: Jul 17, Sat | Jul 18, Sun | Jul 19, Mon | Jul 20, Tue
  • National Day: Aug 7, Sat | Aug 8, Sun | Aug 9, Mon | Aug 10, Tue
  • Teachers' Day: Sep 3, Fri | Sep 4, Sat | Sep 5, Sun
  • Children's Day: Oct 8, Fri |Oct 9, Sat | Oct 10, Sun
  • Deepavali: Nov 4, Thu | Nov 5, Fri | Nov 6, Sat | Nov 7, Sun

Legend
Italic: Weekend
Bold: Take leave
Red: Public holiday
Blue: School Holiday

 


...


Want To Share An Experience? Start Here!

...



Otherwise, email us (contactus@bykido.com) or join our social media for the latest updates too! Don't forget to sign up for our newsletters!





This article is prepared by

Malini Pannirselvam
Dedicated writer by day, avid reader by night, language fanatic all the time, and aunt to nieces and nephews every day

About Us | Contact Us | Go Back